Published: 5 December 2014

Staff award winners revealed

Staff across the University were thanked for their contribution at the Celebrating Success Awards Ceremony last night at the Liverpool Guild of Students.

Hosted by the Vice-Chancellor, more than 200 staff attended the event where Jim Hancock, former BBC Political Editor revealed the winners.

The awards recognise, celebrate and promote excellence by academic, professional service and support staff across the university in the following categories:

Outstanding Early Career Researcher

Dr Christine Schwöbel-Patel, School of Law and Social Justice

Apprentice of the Year

Sean Melia, Arts and Heritage Collection, Victoria Gallery and Museum

Outstanding Contribution to Research Impact

Dr Supriya Garikipati, The University of Liverpool Management School

Excelling at Innovation

The HIV Website Team, Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology (Sara Gibbons, Professor David Back, Professor Saye Khoo, Justin Chiong, Catia Marzolini, Fiona Marra)

Achieving Excellence

Individual winner: Dr Barry King, Department of Physics
Team winner: The Assessment and Policy Team, University of Liverpool Management School

(Paula Ferrington, Leon Bedeau, Luc Bostock, Luke Dowdall, Will Gordon, Dave Horne, Mary Jlassi, Tom Lloyd, Julie Reddy, Nicola Wood, Joanne Warbrooke)

Inspirational Leadership

Joint winners: Dr Jo Cummerson and Professor Tom Solomon, Institute of Infection and Global Health

Good Practice in Equality

Individual winner: Dr Andy Heath, School of Environmental Sciences
Team winner: The Disability, Diversity & Equality Working Group, School of Health Sciences

Civic Contribution

Individual winner: Dr Sarah Peverley, Department of English
Team winner: The Pro Bono team, School of Law and Social Justice

Outstanding Contribution to Research Environment

Joint winners: Dr Christiane Hertz-Fowler, Institute of Integrative Biology and Martina Savio, Research Support Office

Enhancing University Life

Individual winner: Carol Bolton, Human Resources
Team winner: Fitness Team, Sport Liverpool (Peter Grugel, Adam Joseph, Sean Doyle, Cat McNally, Lindsey McKenna, Megan Deane, Lisa Tanner, Emma Swinney, David Eccles, Carl Serjeant)

Evans Memorial Prize

Staff winner: Debbie Prescott, School of Medicine
Student winners: John McInally, Languages and Catherine Whitehall, Music

Alan Beeston Award

Dr Daniel Holden, Department of Chemistry

David Ellams Award

Siân Winston, Marketing and Communications

Sir Alastair Pilkington Award for Teaching and Learning

Faculty of Health and Life Sciences: Siân Walley, School of Dentistry

Faculty of Science and Engineering: The Civil Engineering Design Project Team ( Professor Ahmed Elsheikh, Dr Zhongwei Guan, Dr Steve Jones)

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences: Dr Alex Balch, Department of Politics

The ceremony also saw long service staff who have worked for the University for 40 and 25 years honoured for their contribution, who together have accumulated over 1,300 years’ service.

Celebrating talent

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir Howard Newby, said: “We are privileged to have such talented, innovative and motivated staff, who make all the difference to our students, our research partners and other stakeholders. Great staff achieve great things and I would like to thank you personally for your contributions.”

Award winners included Dr Supriya Garikipati, Outstanding Contribution to Research Impact, who used her research into microfinance in rural India to successfully lobby government and industry practitioners to improve policy and practices surrounding loan disbursement to poor rural women. Her research has impacted the lives of 500,000 women each year in some of the most deprived communities in India.

Professor Tom Solomon and Dr Jo Cummerson, Joint winners of the Inspirational Leadership Award said they were “thrilled and honoured to receive the award.”

The evening culminated in the Vice-Chancellor thanking staff for their contributions to making the University the place it is today.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

One thought on “Staff award winners revealed

  1. Loanemu

    You’ve made some intriguing observations in your article. I am impressed with how well-written your article is and how much information you included. It just verifies that there are writers a passion for the art.

Comments are closed.

News filter

Social Media

Like us on Facebook

More Social Media