Published: 13 January 2015

Call for nominations for honorary degree recipients

Students and staff are invited to make nominations for honorary degree recipients for 2016.

Each year, the University awards a number of honorary degrees to individuals who have achieved eminence in their chosen fields (including distinguished academics and those in public life) or who have made outstanding contributions to the local community.

In 2014, the University awarded honorary degrees to Sir Mark Tully, Former Chief of Bureau for BBC Delhi, Labour Party politician and journalist Lord Adonis; silver Olympic medalist, Dr Alison Mowbray; Chief Executive Officer of Tesco PLC, Philip Clarke; Chief Executive Officer of Unilever, Paul Polman; Chemistry Nobel Prize winner, Professor Dan Shechtman; and Herchel Smith Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at Cambridge, Shankar Balasubramanian.  Professor James Keaton,  recently retired Pro-Chanceller of the University was also awarded an honorary degree.


Nominations for the award of honorary degrees are considered by the Joint Committee on Honorary Degrees which makes recommendations to the Senate and the Council.

Anyone wishing to make a nomination for an honorary degree may use the online form available via  the Academic Secretary’s homepage.

For further information email Pamela McGenity, PA to the Academic Secretary or telephone 0151 794 2059.
The deadline for the receipt of nominations is Friday 13 March 2015.

4.20 avg. rating (83% score) - 5 votes

News filter

Social Media

Like us on Facebook

More Social Media